Family Law Section

Washington State Bar Association

Jun 2011

FLEC elections

At the June 18th Section Midyear lunch meeting, nominations for 2011-2014 terms on the executive committee were accepted for: Patrick Connelly, Larry Couture, Ruth Edlund, Danni Liebman, Chris Rao, Kevin Scudder, James Shipman, Jeanine Vhan and John Wickham. Ballots for the elections will be mailed in July, and results should be available by mid-August.

Midyear Awards

On June 18, 2011, at the Section's Midyear Conference and Annual Meeting, held this year in Spokane, Washington, the WSBA Family Law Section presented its annual awards as follows:
  • Attorney of the Year: Washington Chapter of AAML
  • Jurist of the Year: Judge Tari Eitzen, of Spokane County Superior Court
  • Professional of the Year: Ms. Toni Doane, former section liaison with the WSBA

New Website

At its business meeting on June 17th before start of the Family Law midyear, the executive committee voted to launch a new website for the Section, with the goal of providing a more attractive and feature-rich web site for our Section members and other visitors to the site.

FLEC officers

At its June 16, 2011 business meeting, the Family Law Executive Committee approved new officers for the 2011-2012 term as follows:
  • Chair: Benjamin R. Winkelman
  • Chair-Elect: Shelley L. Brandt
  • Secretary: Nancy Koptur
  • Treasurer: Jean Cotton
Richard Bartholomew (Legislative Coordinator), Doug Becker (Webmaster), and Kathleen Schmidt (Newsletter Editor) will each continue in their respective positions. Ruth Edlund will continue on the committee as Immediate Past Chair.